Chrome Extension permissions (read history)

When you click 'reply' on a chrome extension notification, the extension tries to determine if you have Yappy.im/web already open. If you don't, a new tab is open, if you do, the existing tab is brought into focus.

Due to this logic, Chrome states that Yappy needs access to read your browsing history (see more info at: https://developer.chrome.com/extensions/permission_warnings )

The Yappy chrome extension is fully open sourced and the code is located at https://github.com/celeronpm/YappyChromeExtension  

Our community has reviewed the code and can confirm that Yappy indeed does not use your browsing history for any other reason except to determine if a new tab needs to be open. Please feel free to review the source code yourself for peace of mind.

Feedback and Knowledge Base